Click here for updates on the evolving COVID-19 situation at Rice
Rice University’s Student Newspaper — Since 1916

Friday, September 25, 2020 — Houston, TX °

Opinion




OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

Job internships not necessary for a fruitful summer

Last week, as Rice undergraduates finished their final exams, you could see the looks of hope on students' faces, expressing the combination of exhaustion and relief as students left the grim trenches of academia to the Elysian fields of summer. We have been going through this ritual every year since kindergarten, and our revelry in the almost sacrosanct phrase "school is out for summer" is no less joyous than it was so many years ago.



OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

President's support of equality welcome

The Thresher welcomes President Barack Obama's statement in support of same-sex marriage equality (see story, page 8). Though the political side of the situation is hard to ignore, the advancement of equality for all groups, whether out of a belief that it is right and necessary or for political reasons, is a positive thing. That being said, the Thresher also holds that it is important to not confuse politicians with the ideas they claim to espouse.



OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

Exciting endeavors for new students on campus

When I was deciding on colleges during my senior year of high school, my brother, a Hanszen College junior, told me, "Rice knows how to do college." That is so true; there's a reason we're ranked the happiest college campus in the nation. In such a competitive and intense academic environment, it would be so easy for everyone to lock themselves in their rooms and study all day, every day, but Rice is great about making sure students have places to get involved or at least to get out for free food during study breaks.


OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

An open letter to President Leebron and the Board of Trustees on the future of Rice

There were five hours to go until the end of the College Battle giving campaign when I read the email. Upon reading it, I found that my beloved Brown College was in the embarrassing position of last place. I hadn't planned to give this year, despite having given the first few years after graduating, but last place? For a moment, it became a matter of pride. I clicked the link to donate. And then I was reminded why I hadn't planned to give this year and why I hadn't given last year.



OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

So long, farewell

At the end of every year, we like to take the time to congratulate and thank our colleagues who have graduated and will now have to find real jobs. Editor in Chief Josh Rutenberg was generally clean-shaven as an underclassman and news editor, but he grew an impressive senior beard. His wonderfully bad jokes never failed to inspire a few groans, but his civility and helpfulness, especially at odd hours of the morning, were exceptional. Design Czar Zach Castle also managed to stay charismatic on late nights, though female staffers of all ages soon learned that he is a shameless flirt.


OPINION 5/22/12 7:00pm

Departing senior reflects on his four years at Rice University

Summarizing a Rice experience in one article can hardly do four years at our university justice. Where to begin? As a senior, it's a nostalgic and difficult exercise to capture just what this undergraduate experience has meant. Whether we are graduating, have already or will be in the near future, we share a common experience that most of us can undeniably agree has changed us and will mark our futures as we leave the hedges.




OPINION 4/19/12 7:00pm

Handicap-friendly equipment needed

Rice University holds a special place in my life and memory. During the two years I spent pursuing my master's in mechanical engineering here at Rice, I developed a love and respect for the intellectual freedom and joyful creativity of this institution. So much respect that I still visit Willy's Pub on occasion to enjoy Rice's current atmosphere and maybe make some new friends in the process. There's nothing like sharing a cold Bud Light with a younger scholar still on the path to becoming an Owl.





OPINION 4/19/12 7:00pm

An open letter to candidate Mitt Romney

Congratulations, former Governor Romney. After flirting with a man whose name shall remain un-Googled, your party has decided to settle down with a candidate whose own press secretary compared to an Etch A Sketch, ready to "shake up and restart all over again" to appeal to voters outside the Fox News universe. You may not have secured the majority of delegates, but your remaining primary opponents are a gadfly with ideas plucked straight from science fiction - and Newt Gingrich. The nomination is yours. Send your unaffiliated Super PAC an anonymous thank-you note. After six years in beta testing and a quick deletion of your health care file, you only need one more reboot for the general election. Before you trigger the political reset button, we respectfully offer our advice on how to re-program yourself to swoop up persuadable Rice Owl voters.


OPINION 4/19/12 7:00pm

Entreprenurial opportunities severely lacking

The Thresher would like to congratulate the students who participated in Three Day Startup for holding a successful conference. The program is designed to help students expand their entrepreneurial education. Students who have great ideas but lack resources can apply to participate in the program and have the opportunity to launch their potential business. It is programs such as these that motivate students to achieve a high level of success at the undergraduate level. Unfortunately, there was a deficiency in support for the program this year due to the event's timing. Since it was scheduled between Beer Bike and the Rice Business Plan competition, Three Day Startup had difficulty in receiving a large amount of funding. We commend the program for finding creative means of exploring external connections to fulfill itsfunding requirements.


OPINION 4/12/12 7:00pm

Dean's Cup both petty and redudant

To eliminate the unfair advantage the Graduate Student Association has in college sports, the idea of establishing a Dean's Cup has been proposed. In this new Dean's Cup, the GSA would be eliminated from the running.