Rice University’s Student Newspaper — Since 1916

Tuesday, December 10, 2019 — Houston, TX 49°

Opinion



OPINION 8/27/19 10:02pm

A new year begins at Rice, with both joy and sorrow

The beginning of a new academic year is both a busy and joyous time at Rice. Just over a week ago we formally welcomed 965 new freshmen and 35 transfer students into our community. And over the last week, 1,075 new graduate students arrived on campus, joining disciplines ranging from applied physics to art history and from music to chemical engineering.


OPINION 8/27/19 9:43pm

From the Editor's Desk: Support the students behind student media

Most students know that Rice doesn’t have a business major. What they might not realize is that Rice also doesn’t have a journalism program, a photojournalism major, a visual design program or a public relations major — interests that instead coalesce in the tiny space that is the second floor of the Ley Student Center.


OPINION 8/27/19 9:40pm

From the Dean of Undergraduates: Welcome to Rice

Welcome to the start of another year at Rice! This is my favorite time of year. The academic calendar follows a cyclical rhythm — each spring is a bittersweet goodbye as our seniors move on to the next stage of their lives, and then before you know it, the excitement of greeting our New Students is upon us. 


OPINION 5/5/19 9:20pm

Companies need to remember the inclusion part of diversity and inclusion

Companies should strive to go beyond “quotas” for underrepresented groups as their measure of diversity and inclusion. Diversity and inclusion are reflected in how marginalized groups are treated by others, the opportunities available to these groups and the amount of respect given to a person’s voice. Even if a company has an equal demographic split, can they really say they are diverse or inclusive if select people experience bias or lack opportunities for success?




OPINION 4/16/19 11:47pm

From the editors’ desk: Farewell

For the last four years, we have spent every Monday night upstairs in the Rice Memorial Center, neglecting schoolwork, social events, friends (as our suitemates can attest) and even our own birthdays to produce the weekly newspaper that shows up in your college’s commons every Wednesday. 


OPINION 4/16/19 11:43pm

Pigeons belong at Rice

In my opinion, Rice presents itself as a very liberal institution: pro-people, pro-poor and disenfranchised, pro-animals and pro-nature. However, recent events have made me question this perception.




OPINION 4/16/19 11:30pm

Rice insurance plan should cover elective abortions

At the beginning of this year, the Thresher received a tip that the Rice student health insurance policy, Aetna, only covers abortions in the event of rape, incest or the endangerment of the life of the mother. An examination of the policy confirmed this tip to be factual.





SPORTS 4/2/19 11:37pm

Barber Shop Talk: Football should not have practice on beer bike

Beer Bike is arguably the most important social event on the Rice calendar. Students call it the best day of the year or even Christmas. From the early wake-up to the Martel sundeck to the water balloon fight to the races, it is a day of celebration and a journey outside of the normal obligations of being a college student. 




OPINION 3/26/19 10:02pm

Vote in SA special election on April 8

The student body will vote on a new amendment to the Student Association constitution in a special election that opens April 8. The proposition on the ballot is this: SA legislation shouldn’t need sponsorship from a voting member of the SA Senate.


SPORTS 3/19/19 10:38pm

Owls deserve better than 12-seed

On Monday, ESPN (somewhat prematurely) released the bracket for the 2019 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament. Like many of you readers, I was shocked to see that Rice was a No. 12 seed.