Rice University’s Student Newspaper — Since 1916

Thursday, July 07, 2022 — Houston, TX

97th Commencement: Phi Beta Kappa Society Inductees 2010

5/16/10 7:00pm

Seventy-five students, three more than last year, became members of Phi Beta Kappa, an honor society that recognizes outstanding achievements in the liberal arts and sciences, at the annual induction ceremony Friday in Hamman Hall.

Inductees must be in the top 10 percent of their graduating class and they must have completed at least 90 semester hours in courses that are not focused on the development of particular professional skills. Of these courses, 10 must be from outside the division of the student's major.

History Professor Lisa Balabanlilar spoke to inductees at the ceremony. Balabanlilar is this year's winner of the Sophia M. Farb Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize, which awards the most outstanding non-tenured Rice professor based on faculty review of student instructor evaluations. The selection committee for the prize consisted of Computer Science Department Chair John Greiner, sociology Professor Bridget Gorman and philosophy Professor Mark Kulstad.

-Jocelyn Wright

List of 2010 inductees

Yosuke Akiyama

Candase Dawn Arnold

Bailey Elisse Basile

Anish Bavishi

Erin R. Beisner

John C. Berens

Marianne Elizabeth Beynon

Scott W. Bock

James Clark Bookhout

Jessica Lynn Boulavsky

Diego Caballero Orduna

Rose Cahalan

Joseph Chang

Philip Chu

Jared Giles Cocke

Alyssa Marie Cotterman

Andrew James Davenport

Sara De La Rosa

David Nigel John Downing

Allison Adriana Elliott

Elena Marie Fabiano

Christopher Michael Fraser

Hunter B. Gilbert

Felona Gunawan

Brian Scott Henderson

Rebecca Lynn Henderson

Brittany Nicole Hodgson

William Bradley Houston

David Jonathan Hrncir

Jessie Yanshu Huang

Daniel Jong

Nicolas Daniel Kamas

Jessie Nga Yin Lau

Jonathan Patton Lo

Julia Ellen Davidson Lukomnik

Jennifer Xinrong Luo

Jessica Ellie Ma

Cort Brendan Malmberg

Heidi Martini-Stoica

Yuan Mei

Robert Joseph Meister

Joseph Michael Mello

Rachel M. Mercer-Smith

Yves Benedict Meyer

Stephen Charles Morris

Arturo Munoz

Esei Mace Murakishi

Chaya Murali

Seth Patrick O'Brien

Katelyn Ostendorf

David Ouyang

Shalin S. Patel

Melisa Günsel Pferdehirt

Varun P. Rajan

Saneal Rajanahally

Anna Elise Roberts

Joseph Rodd

Joseph Andrew Rosenthal

Jamie L. Sammis

Celine Santiago

Kathleen Patricia Schnelle

Erin Elizabeth Scott

Jordan Shanker

Chelsea Cara Smith

Alex G. Solomon

Lisa Y Sun

Catherine Louise Swanson

Aaron Joshua Thomas

Andrew John Thompson

Ashley Corinne Thompson

Helen Tsao

Apphia Lihan Wang

Yu-hsuan Samuel Wang

Eric William Wilde

Jessy Shengjianzi Yang

More from The Rice Thresher

NEWS 6/16/22 6:36pm
Michigan professor Amy Dittmar named Rice’s next provost

Amy Dittmar, the senior vice provost for academic and budgetary affairs and a professor of economics and finance at the University of Michigan, has been selected as Rice’s new provost, incoming president Reginald DesRoches announced Thursday. DesRoches, the current provost, will become Rice’s president on July 1, and Dittmar will start August 1.

NEWS 4/19/22 11:00pm
SA drafts formal complaint against Chi Alpha after discrimination accusations

The Student Association executive board drafted a formal complaint against the Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship to present to University Court for violation of the SA Constitution nondiscrimination policy that every Rice organization is required to adhere to. This complaint comes in light of the recently published Thresher article, where several students shared their experience with discrimation within the club on the basis of sexual orientation. 


Please note All comments are eligible for publication by The Rice Thresher.